ACTION of the Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary (GFNMS) Advisory Council (SAC)

To establish a working group on whale ship strikes and invite the Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary (CBNMS) Advisory Council to participate

During its virtual meeting on February 18, 2021, the SAC heard from Maria Brown, Sanctuary Superintendent, on the timely need for a joint ship strikes working group. Following this, the council voted to establish the working group. Pending confirmation from the CBNMS advisory council, this will be a joint working group of both councils.

Vessel strikes are a leading cause of death to endangered and threatened blue and humpback whales. With 95% cooperation, the GFNMS/CBNMS voluntary vessel speed reduction and incentive program is estimated to reduce the risk to target whale species by 25%. The purpose of the working group will be to provide input on 3 conceptual designs to reduce the risk of ship strikes beyond 25%. The goal of the working group will be to reduce the risk of lethal ship strikes to endangered and threatened blue, humpback, and fin whales by 50% in GFNMS/CBNMS.

Attachment: none

cc:

Maria Brown, Superintendent, Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary Dan Howard, Superintendent, Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary Bill Douros, Office of National Marine Sanctuaries West Coast Region Director

This resolution was passed with majority vote by a quorum of voting members at a public meeting on February 18, 2021 held via Google Meet. SAC discussion regarding this resolution can be found in Meeting Highlights documentation at https://farallones.noaa.gov/manage/sac_meetings.html.

NON-GOVERNMENT SEATS

Commercial Fishing

Barbara Emley (Secretary)/Primary

Sarah Bates/Alternate

Community-at-Large San Francisco/San Mateo

Joe Fitting/Primary

Kris Lannin Liang/Alternate

Community-at-Large Marin

Dominique Richard (Chair)/Primary

George Clyde/Alternate

Community at-Large Mendocino/Sonoma

Cea Higgins/Primary

Nancy Trissel/Alternate

Conservation

Richard Charter/Primary

Bruce Bowser/Primary

Francesca Koe/Alternate

Kathi George/Alternate

Education

Bibit Traut/Primary

Vacant/Alternate

Maritime Activities - Commercial

John Berge/Primary

Julian Rose/Alternate

Maritime Activities - Recreation

Abby Mohan (Vice Chair)/Primary

Joshua Russo/Alternate

Research

John Largier/Primary

Jaime Jahncke/Alternate

Youth

Ezra Bergson-Michelson/Primary

Owen Youngquist/Alternate

GOVERNMENT SEATS

California Department of Natural Resources

Mark Gold/Primary

Michael Esgro/Alternate

National Marine Fisheries Service

Jennifer Boyce/Primary

Vacant/Alternate

National Park Service

Cicely Muldoon/Primary

Ben Becker/Alternate

U.S. Coast Guard

LT Jacob Joseph/Primary

LTJG Chris Bell/Alternate

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Chris Barr/Primary

Gerry McChesney/Alternate

Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary

Chris Mobley/Primary

Mike Murray/Alternate

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary

Dawn Hayes/Primary

Vacant/Alternate

Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary

Dan Howard/Primary

Michael Carver/Alternate

SANCTUARY SUPERINTENDENT

Maria Brown, Superintendent

Brian Johnson, Deputy Superintendent